Regional & Process Modeling

Group Lead: Mary Barth

Scientific Objectives

RPM contributes to ACOM's primary research goals through the identification of key atmospheric chemical transformations and physical processes affecting chemical constituents.

Topics include: 1) global, regional, and urban air quality,  2) the chemistry of the climate system, and 3) radiative properties and forcing of anthropogenic pollutants, . 

Research Topics

  • Field campaign data analysis (MIRAGE, DC3, SAS, FRAPPE)
  • Explicit and 3D modeling of secondary organic aerosol (SOA) constituents
  • Cloud-aerosol interactions
    • Learn more about WRF-Chem modeling of cloud-aerosol interactions in India
  • Future Air Quality in South Asia using WRF-Chem (PIs: Rajesh Kumar, Mary Barth)
  • Effects of UV radiation on photochemistry and the biosphere
  • Changing Emissions on Regional and Global Scales
    • Learn more about development and evaluation of fire emissions
    • Learn more about emissions and impacts in Africa
    • Learn more about WRF-chem studies to evaluate the impacts of residential emissions in China

 

Models available to the community        ghana

  • WRF-Chem, a local-to-regional scale chemistry model
  • NCARMM, the NCAR Master Mechanism, an explicit chemical box model
  • TUV, the Tropospheric Ultraviolet and Visible radiation model
  • FINN, Fire Emissions INventory from NCAR
  • BOXMOX, Box Model Extensions to KPP

 

Research models

  • GECKO-A, Generator of Explicit Chemistry and Kinetics of Organics in the Atmosphere

 

Members and Current Visitors

NameEmailJob title
Mary Barthbarthm@ucar.eduSenior Scientist, Group Leader
Alma Hodzicalma@ucar.eduScientist III
Julia Lee-Taylorjulia@ucar.eduLong-Term Visitor
Sasha Madronichsasha@ucar.eduSenior Scientist
Young-Hee Ryuyounghee@ucar.eduPost-Doctoral Researcher
Camille Mouchel-Valloncmv@ucar.eduPost-Doctoral Researcher
XueXi Tiexuexi@ucar.eduLong-Term Visitor
Stacy Waltersstacy@ucar.eduSoftware Engineer
Christine Wiedinmyerchristin@ucar.eduScientist III

 

Collaborators and Alumni

NameEmailAffiliation
Bernard Aumontbernard.aumont@lisa.u-pec.frLISA, Paris, France
Megan Belamegan.bela@noaa.govNOAA/ESRL
Trude Eidhammertrude@ucar.eduNCAR/RAL
Jerome FastJerome.Fast@pnnl.govDOE/PNNL
Sachin Ghudesachinghude@tropmet.res.inIITM, Pune, India
Christoph Knoteknote@ucar.eduLMU, Munich, Germany
Rajesh Kumarrkumar@ucar.eduNCAR/RAL
G. Gerardo Palancarpalancar@fcq.unc.edu.arINFIQC, UNC, Cordoba, Argentina
Pablo Saide saide@ucar.eduNCAR/RAL

 

ACOM Visitor Profiles

UCAR/NCAR Share

                  

                  

ACOM | Atmospheric Chemistry Observations & Modeling