Regional & Process Modeling

Group Lead: Mary Barth

Scientific Objectives

RPM contributes to ACOM's primary research goals through the identification of key atmospheric chemical transformations and physical processes affecting chemical constituents.

Topics include: 1) global, regional, and urban air quality,  2) the chemistry of the climate system, and 3) radiative properties and forcing of anthropogenic pollutants, . 

Research Topics

  • Field campaign data analysis (MIRAGE, DC3, SAS, FRAPPE)
  • Explicit and 3D modeling of secondary organic aerosol (SOA) constituents
  • Cloud-aerosol interactions
    • Learn more about WRF-Chem modeling of cloud-aerosol interactions in India
  • Future Air Quality in South Asia using WRF-Chem (PIs: Rajesh Kumar, Mary Barth)
  • Effects of UV radiation on photochemistry and the biosphere
  • Changing Emissions on Regional and Global Scales
    • Learn more about development and evaluation of fire emissions
    • Learn more about emissions and impacts in Africa
    • Learn more about WRF-chem studies to evaluate the impacts of residential emissions in China

 

Models available to the community       

ghana

  • WRF-Chem, a local-to-regional scale chemistry model
  • NCARMM, the NCAR Master Mechanism, an explicit chemical box model
  • TUV, the Tropospheric Ultraviolet and Visible radiation model
  • FINN, Fire Emissions INventory from NCAR
  • BOXMOX, Box Model Extensions to KPP

 

Research models

  • GECKO-A, Generator of Explicit Chemistry and Kinetics of Organics in the Atmosphere

 

Members and Current Visitors

Name Email Job title
Mary Barth barthm@ucar.edu Senior Scientist, Group Leader
Alma Hodzic alma@ucar.edu Scientist III
Julia Lee-Taylor julia@ucar.edu Long-Term Visitor
Sasha Madronich sasha@ucar.edu Senior Scientist
Young-Hee Ryu younghee@ucar.edu Post-Doctoral Researcher
Camille Mouchel-Vallon cmv@ucar.edu Post-Doctoral Researcher
XueXi Tie xuexi@ucar.edu Long-Term Visitor
Stacy Walters stacy@ucar.edu Software Engineer
Christine Wiedinmyer christin@ucar.edu Scientist III

 

Collaborators and Alumni

Name Email Affiliation
Bernard Aumont bernard.aumont@lisa.u-pec.fr LISA, Paris, France
Megan Bela megan.bela@noaa.gov NOAA/ESRL
Trude Eidhammer trude@ucar.edu NCAR/RAL
Jerome Fast Jerome.Fast@pnnl.gov DOE/PNNL
Sachin Ghude sachinghude@tropmet.res.in IITM, Pune, India
Christoph Knote knote@ucar.edu LMU, Munich, Germany
Rajesh Kumar rkumar@ucar.edu NCAR/RAL
G. Gerardo Palancar palancar@fcq.unc.edu.ar INFIQC, UNC, Cordoba, Argentina
Pablo Saide saide@ucar.edu NCAR/RAL

 

ACOM Visitor Profiles

NotYetReviewed

Contact

Please direct questions/comments about this page to:

Anonymous

ACOM Type
Regional Process Modeling